Teach an Chustaim Building, also known as the Custom House, was first opened on November 7th 1791, and cost the amazing sum of ₤200,000 to construct. This massive building, considered by some architectural scholars to be the most significant structure in the country. It is unique in that all four sides of the building are decorated with sculptures and coat of arm decorations, designed by Thomas Banks, Edward Symth and Agnostino Carlini. There is also a design theme on the façades and keystones of the building, paying a tribute to the rivers of Ireland.
Located on the north shore of the River Liffey, the Custom House is now home to the Heritage and Local Government, as well as the Department of Education. Although the building has been carefully restored, there have also been additions to the structure over the years. The last major addition was the rebuilding of the classic dome that sits prominently over the center of the building.
Address: Custom House Quay, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone: +353 1 888 2000
Architect: James Gandon
Province: Province of Leinster
Please provide this reference number to our customer service center representative on request, so we can help you better