Hotels in Teach an Chustaim Building

    Teach an Chustaim Building Details

    Teach an Chustaim Building, also known as the Custom House, was first opened on November 7th 1791, and cost the amazing sum of 200,000 to construct. This massive building, considered by some architectural scholars to be the most significant structure in the country. It is unique in that all four sides of the building are decorated with sculptures and coat of arm decorations, designed by Thomas Banks, Edward Symth and Agnostino Carlini. There is also a design theme on the façades and keystones of the building, paying a tribute to the rivers of Ireland.Located on the north shore of the River Liffey, the Custom House is now home to the Heritage and Local Government, as well as the Department of Education. Although the building has been carefully restored, there have also been additions to the structure over the years. The last major addition was the rebuilding of the classic dome that sits prominently over the center of the building.

    Address: Custom House Quay, Dublin 1, Ireland

    Opened: 1791

    Phone: +353 1 888 2000

    Architect: James Gandon

    Province: Province of Leinster